AAPHD Standing Committees

The Association has five standing committees of the Board, and a Joint Reference Committee as prescribed by the bylaws. Other standing committees as may be established by the Board of Directors to support the purposes of the Association. A majority of all members of committees having the authority of the Board of Directors must be members of the Board of Directors.

The BYLAWS COMMITTEE periodically reviews the AAPHD bylaws to ensure that it appropriately meets the needs of the Association and its members, and maintains compliance of the Association as the sponsoring organization for the American Board of Dental Public Health.

The FINANCE COMMITTEE guides Association activities related to its financial affairs.

The FOUNDATION COMMITTEE supports AAPHD Foundation's mission of advancing the objectives of the Association and the specialty of Dental Public Health. The Foundation Committee oversees the Herschel S. Horowitz scholarship, the Small Grants Award program, the Doherty Student Chapter Fund, the Lotzkar Fund and the General Fund."

The MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE plans and conducts recruitment activities for new members, and periodically assesses the needs for current members.

The NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE consists of the President-Elect and additional members appointed by the Board of Directors. Members of the Nominations Committee are not eligible to stand for election to the Board or an Officer position during their one-term on the Nominations Committee. Nomination Committee members may serve no more than two (2) consecutive terms in office.

The President-Elect and the chair of each of the Association's councils shall serve on the JOINT REFERENCE COMMITTEE. The Joint Reference Committee is responsible for bringing matters to the attention of the Association's Board of Directors of concerns to the councils and making recommendations to the Board of Directors.